Pumping it at Schlitterbahn

Schlitterbahn Image

Last weekend Aaron and I went to Schlitterbahn with his family for some fun in the sun. (For those of you who do not know, Schlitterbahn is the best waterpark in Texas.) I was ecstatic. I couldn’t remember the last time I had been, and I couldn’t wait. However, I did have one predicament. Schlitterbahn is a waterpark, and my pump is not waterproof.

With any overnight travel, one with diabetes must be prepared. My overnight diabetes bag includes insulin, glucometer with extra test trips and lancets (things used to prick your finger), extra infusion sets and reservoirs for my pump, glucose tablets, and my Dia-Pak (protective case with ice pack to keep my insulin cool for the road trip). I also almost always put in my CGM when I travel since I will be out of my daily routine, and blood sugar levels can be unpredictable.

I also had my little predicament to think about, and I was not going to let it get me down. Enter the double layered Ziploc baggy with double Ziploc protection.

With my Ziploc bags packed, Aaron and I came up with a strategy on the safest way to be disconnected from my pump, yet have it in reach if I needed it. I also needed to have my glucometer handy.

Aaron’s wonderful parents, who are always supportive and loving, got us a locker to keep everything nice and safe. So, with my trusty steed, my Dia-Pak, and my double bagged pump and glucometer, I was set to go.

Enter fun time. After we got our home base set up, and I checked my blood sugar one last time, we were off! We swam, floated in the wave pool, rode on the tube rides, and just had a blast. When it was time for a quick rest, we just went to our locker, I got my gear and checked everything out.

Some people think that having diabetes, especially if you wear a pump, brings limitations. This is not true in the slightest. All one needs to do is plan ahead and be prepared.

2 thoughts on “Pumping it at Schlitterbahn

Let me know what you think...

