Gettin’ Schooled

Gettin' Schooled

Well, it’s that time of year again. The time for shopping for pencils, backpacks, crayons, and glue, as well as the time for school buses, road rage, and traffic. Usually, this time of year has no effect on my day-to-day activities, except for the school buses and road rage. However, this year, I’m going back to school too.

I currently work as a marketing assistant for a commercial real estate firm, but I have always wanted to explore the world of graphic and web design. I do have some experience doing freelance graphic design work, but I have decided to take some courses and learn from the beginning. So, I enrolled in a couple of classes at the local community college; one is an online course, and the other is an in-class course.

I had my first class of the semester on Monday, and it was thrilling and also exhausting. I knew my blood sugar levels would be all out of sorts that day because I was anxious and nervous all day, and the class was four hours long. It also started at 5:30 p.m., which was right after I got off work (no time for dinner).

This led to a couple of unforeseen quandaries:

  1. Although I packed a low carb “meal” bar and banana in my purse to eat during our class break, I was ravenous by the time 9:30 p.m. came around. Whoever can actually eat only one of those bars as a true meal deserves a medal. (I will definitely need to come up with a different strategy next time.)
  2. This led to lows at the end of class I had to correct when I got home, which caused a high during the middle of the night most likely, because the next morning I felt like I had a hangover. Boo.
  3. I also forgot to change out the battery in my pump before I left for work that morning. So by the time class started, my pump was hanging by a thread. Therefore, there was a mysterious beeping that kept going off in class I pretended I was oblivious too, when it was in fact my pump alerting me of low battery.

To sum everything up, by the end of class I was hungry, tired, and beeping. I have to admit, this was not the back-to-school welcome I was hoping for. However, from my horrific evening, I have learned a few things.

I have learned to always carry an extra battery in my purse because who wants to sound like a fire alarm, and if I’m worried the meal I packed is not enough, there is no shame in packing an extra snack.

Diabetes, and everything that goes along with it, can be unpredictable. Like everything in life, the only thing we can do is learn from our mistakes and move forward.

Let me know what you think...

