There’s a Cure…?

There have been a lot of misconceptions out there about Type 1 Diabetes, and this so called cure. I’m not sure how I feel about it to be honest with you. I don’t know whether to jump for joy, or stone those lying bastards.

It all started when I went to my doctor’s appointment a few weeks ago for a physical. As we all know, one of the components of a physical, I find not so enjoyable, is getting blood drawn. So, when the nurse came in to begin the process, I decided to start a little friendly conversation to get my mind off things.

I told her I must be the worst diabetic ever because after all the poking and prodding I have undergone this past year, I still loathe the sight of needles. Well, that certainly opened up a big can of worms.

The nurse looked at me puzzled and said, “You have diabetes? You look too young to already have diabetes.” I then started to reiterate, as I always do, my Type 1 Diabetes monologue, as well as explain to her it is usually diagnosed in children and in young adults.

Instead of the usual response I get from people, which includes a deep sigh or a look of concern, I got this one; “Well you know there’s a cure right?”

I was a little baffled. “No,” I replied. “Unfortunately there is no cure at this time for Type 1 Diabetes only managing it.” Her response:

“Oh yeah, yeah. All you have to do is eat healthy and cut down on the sugar and carbs, and it reboots your immune system. There have been studies about this, and you can go look it up on the internet.”

I was a little upset and confused all at the same time. First off, I didn’t know whether the nurse was just ill-advised about diabetes, or if she was really on to something. I was also a little heated to know that this nurse was going around telling patients this, and I never enjoy being told eating healthy will cure diabetes. I eat healthy dammit.

I tried to shrug the conversation off, but the nurse did get to me, so I started doing a little bit of research online about this so called, “cure” for Type 1 Diabetes.

I found websites about acupuncture curing Type 1 Diabetes, exercising and eating blueberries to cure Type 1 Diabetes, and then I stumbled upon this website, GreenMedInfo. The title was, “10 Natural Substances That Could Help Cure Type 1 Diabetes.”

This website had studies completed, testimonies, and a complete guide on how to cure Type 1 Diabetes. All you had to do was become a member and buy the book of course. I was infuriated. Sure, there were other websites that proclaimed to know the cure for Type 1 Diabetes, but this one was making a profit.

But that’s what we are in their eyes isn’t it? A large bag of money, roaming the earth, and having to pay to stay alive. We pay the big healthcare corporations for our diabetes supplies, we pay our Endocrinologists and CDE’s for their guidance (which is truly helpful), and some may even pay these shameful companies who have the gall and audacity to proclaim they have the cure for Type 1 Diabetes.

Thankfully, there are also some amazing organizations out there such as JDRF, American Diabetes Association, Diabetes Research Institute, and many others that are still trying to find us a real cure. And for that, I truly thank you. Without you, all we would have is acupuncture and herbs.

2 thoughts on “There’s a Cure…?

  1. That is appalling a healthcare professional was so misinformed about diabetes. Also, she tried to feed you that misinformation!!! Imagine what she’s doing to other patients…you might think about reporting her. As I’ve gone through orientation at my hospital, I’ve learned hospitals are really serious about patient safety. Her words could cause someone to pursue unsafe practices.

    Like

Let me know what you think...

