Sugar, Spice, and Everything Nice

Sugar,SpiceNice
Fall has arrived, and with it comes cooler air, the changing of leaves, and all those wonderful fall food favorites.

One of my favorite spices I love to incorporate into my food this time of year is cinnamon. I put it in my coffee, on my oatmeal, in my pancakes, and pretty much anywhere else I can think of to bring the fall season to my food.

Something else I have been doing with cinnamon is taking cinnamon supplements to help lower my blood sugar in the evening.

My blood sugar is always higher in the evening than it is during the day. So, I try to exercise in the evening as much as I can to compensate for the high numbers, but I have also found something else that helps, cinnamon.

In some studies, cinnamon has actually been known to lower blood glucose levels for those with diabetes. So, I have now added taking a cinnamon supplement to my evening routine. I am still in the process of tracking my results, but I see my endocrinologist in mid-October, and I am hoping for the best.

It has been a month since I have started taking them and have had positive results so far. The cinnamon supplement doesn’t drop my blood sugar extremely low but rather just gives it a little nudge. It’s also nice to add a little bit of natural remedy to my diabetes management, especially since my only option is insulin and then more insulin.

I’ve always loved cinnamon and the wonderful spice and flavor it adds to my food, and now I have something else to love about it too.

Do you have a favorite spice?

2 thoughts on “Sugar, Spice, and Everything Nice

Let me know what you think...

