The Beauty of Friendship

Friendship

Yesterday was a whirlwind, and even though it was only Tuesday, I was already stressed out with things I needed to get done. I had homework, insurance paperwork, retirement planning, and design work I needed to do. But above all these things, I had a phone date with a dear friend.

I am ashamed to admit, but in my head I was thinking, “Tristin you have a ton to do, so make this short, so you can get started on your work.”

However, once I made the phone call and we started talking and laughing, all my worries seemed to just wash away. We ended up talking for over an hour and a half, and afterwards, I didn’t have a care in the world. It made me realize how important friendships are.

Since moving to Houston, it has been a little difficult to open myself up to new people and take that leap to make new friends. I had also started to isolate myself when I became diagnosed with diabetes.

Going out to dinner with new acquaintances, lunch with co-workers, and drinks with the girls would all require me to disclose to them I had diabetes. It wasn’t that I was ashamed to explain my situation and why I have to prick my finger or wear an insulin pump, but it just seemed too early to explain a very personal matter. So, instead of pushing through my shyness and insecurities to make new friends, I started to just curl-up into my own little safety bubble.

Sure, I have my wonderful husband, Aaron and our two little doggies, and I am so blessed to have him, but I do miss having some gal pals to talk with, and my long conversation with my wonderful friend made me realize this.

So, I am getting back in the game. I have already looked at churches for Aaron and I to attend on Sunday, and I’ve looked at some volunteer activities as well. Just a few steps here and there will get us both in the groove of things to start meeting some new people.

Because friendship is a wonderful thing. Friends encourage and inspire us. They listen to our frustrations and our dreams. It is something we all need in life.

 

20140524_201203OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One thought on “The Beauty of Friendship

Let me know what you think...

