Positive Thoughts on T1D – #1

 

Dance

Having diabetes is challenging. You have your good days and your bad days. It is a love hate relationship, but mostly just hate. However, I have found some positive things about this disease that I can’t help but share. In my new series, Positive Thoughts on T1D, I will be discussing all the positive things diabetes has brought to my life.

One of the biggest and most positive impact diabetes has had on my life is learning to be healthy…

#1. Choosing Healthy

One of the first things diabetes taught me is how to start living a healthy lifestyle. I could not believe how bad some of the food I was eating until I had to actually start keeping track of the carbs I ate. This was truly an eye-opener for me.

Diabetes gave me my little own food intervention, and the boost I needed to start getting healthy again. (Primarily because I didn’t really have a say in the matter, but that’s neither here nor there.)

I started reading labels, searching for healthier recipes, and I actually started to become more aware of the food I was putting into my mouth. Granted, this did take some adjusting.

I spent a little more time in the grocery store deciding what the healthiest options were, picking out more varieties of produce, and taking a little extra time to schedule my family’s meal plan for the week. However, things eventually got a little easier, and being healthy became habitual.

Diabetes changed my thought process into making healthier choices, and I couldn’t be happier. I feel better, I’m rejuvenated, and I even have a little more confidence in myself for being able to make and stick with my healthy choices. What wonderful and happy thought!

Let me know what you think...

