A Different Perspective

perspective

Let’s take a different perspective shall we? But first, let me introduce myself. My name is Aaron Campbell, and I am Tristin’s husband. I have been with Tristin for over 8 years now, and married for almost 3½ of those years. Let me say what a ride it has been. I am posting this without Tristin knowing (surprise sweetie!), as she deserves a bit of credit.

Let me start by talking about Tristin. Tristin is the most wonderful person I have ever known. I know it may be a bit cliché, but I have liked Tristin since the night I met her. Something about her stood out at the time, and that feeling has never changed.

Tristin is caring, loving, smart, diligent, resilient, independent, supportive, accepting, patient, and a bit strong willed at times. All of these amazing characteristics encompass my love for her. I think the two that stand out to me the most is caring and loving. When Tristin really cares about something or someone, she tends to immerse herself in those relationships, and makes those things or people feel truly important. This is how I felt after we met and started dating, as she embraced our relationship and really made me feel special as a person and as her boyfriend. Today is no different. Tristin loves me for me, from my faults to my strengths. She makes me truly honored to be her Husband, and I try every day to show her how special it is to me.

Being the husband of a T1D, and now pregnant wife is not always a cake walk. The constant stress of high blood sugars along with the emotional magnification of being pregnant sometimes gets a bit overwhelming. But no matter how hard it gets, I wouldn’t change it for the world. One characteristic I have learned to embrace even more since Tristin has been diagnosed with T1D, and more now that she is pregnant, is support.

Being supportive of Tristin and her endeavors in life have always been a goal of mine, and something I pride myself on. I encourage her to do great things, to try something new, and to just to do things that make her happy. With T1D it was a bit of an adjustment learning alongside her about what and what not to eat, how her pump works, how to change her insulin out, and how to basically adjust to a new lifestyle. Being supportive in her T1D adventure has also made me healthier. I eat better and walk more making it an all-around good thing for both of us.

As with T1D, being supportive during the pregnancy is equally important. Reading the baby books, researching endless items for the registry, going to the birthing classes (including the breastfeeding one where I was the only husband there), attending the ultrasounds, and just being there for anything she needs.

Tristin never ceases to amaze me, and I am truly thankful and honored to be her husband, best friend, and support system. We have had a whirlwind of events the past 10 months, but together we have gotten through it. I cannot wait to see what the future holds for us, but as for me I will keep being there for her through T1D, pregnancy, and beyond. I wouldn’t expect anything less from myself, because as I said before, she deserves it.

Let me know what you think...

