The 34 Week Slump

34-week-slump

When restarting my blog again, I promised myself I would document my pregnancy the best I could. This meant portraying the good, the bad, and the ugly. Well, this is the ugly.

I have finally made it to week 34 of my pregnancy. If you had asked me a few weeks ago if I was ready for our little girl to come I would have told you I’m in no rush. However, the past couple of weeks have made me sing a different tune.

A couple of weeks ago when I went in for my ultrasound, currently at 32 weeks, I might have shown some signs of cockiness. You might have even see me dare I say strut to my OBGYN appointment things had been going so well. My blood sugar levels had been on point, and I wasn’t showing any abnormal health signs. However, that soon all changed.

Instead of my baby weighing the average 3.75 pounds at 32 weeks, she weighed a whopping 4.9 pounds! Now, I know it could have been a lot worse, but I felt blindsided. What could I have possibly done wrong? My blood sugar levels had been slightly elevated when I woke up in the morning for the past week, but I thought I had it under control. I had been eating the exact same meal plan week after week. I knew I needed some tweaking to my pump settings, but I thought I could handle it on my own. Even though there are a lot of things you simply can’t control with T1D, the last thing you sometimes want to admit is that you need help.

I felt defeated, and I had failed. I could even sense the disappointment from my doctor. She started asking me how my blood sugar levels were doing, and if it was under control, had I been in touch with my endocrinologist, what had I been eating, and so on. It was not a pleasant experience, but it was exactly what I needed.

It was the wake-up call to get things back on track. It’s true, I had been coasting and hoping my blood sugar issues would resolve in due course. Because in all actuality, it gets exhausting having your body constantly analyzed and poked and prodded. So, the last thing I wanted was to jump at the chance to schedule yet another doctor’s appointment.

However, my body is still continuously changing. Hormone levels are still fluctuating, along with everything else going on. Meaning, I always need to be on point, and my insulin intake always needs adjusting.

So, with my head down and my tail between my legs, I left my gynecologist appointment and immediately scheduled an endocrinologist appointment. Unpleasant as it was to admit my lack of urgency in contacting her for help, I have since adjusted my pump settings, and I’m happy to say things are looking up. Our baby girl is now at 5.2 pounds for 34 weeks, with the average weight being 4.75 pounds.

I’m not sure what the moral of this story is, only that pregnancy with T1D is a marathon, and I had gotten in a slump. And like so many things in life, only we can pull ourselves up, admit we need help, and carry on.

Luckily, the countdown continues for our little girl. Now at almost 35 weeks, I have less than 4 weeks to go, and I can now truly say, I am looking forward to meeting her before anything else happens.

Let me know what you think...

